Home > Purchases > So I’m buying a car (part 2)

So I’m buying a car (part 2)

In the end we compromised.  We settled for taking the Titanium model avec spoiler, with the option of having it either replaced at a later date (thus ending up with a spare spoiler), or swapped with a future prospective buyer (guy goes to Al Tayer looking at Ford Fiesta, sales tell him “oh and we have an option to upgrade to a brand new unwanted sports spoiler, interested?”).  We were hooked on the options, so we didn’t want to downgrade anymore.

The new car.  Apologies for the crop, was risking falling backwards on the landscaped slope.

The new car. Apologies for the crop, was risking falling backwards on the landscaped slope.

The sales experience was laughable though.  After taking an accusatory tone for the hassle I was creating, once we told them to go ahead they were all smiles and greetings and how’s everything.  What really got me was:

“There.  Now in about two weeks’ time you will be contacted by our customer service desk, asking about the sales experience.  Please leave favourable comments as it affects us.”  Fat chance.

This was also my first time taking out a loan in Dubai, through which I discovered the banking system’s reliance on cheques as method of payment.  Why are they clinging on to them? What is the issue for not creating standing orders.  I had to sign sixty cheques, and had to counter-sign two of my own signatures becuase “they were not like the rest”.  Which led me to consider going back to my branch to make sure the signature they have on file matches the one I used, don’t want another sixty headaches.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

