Home > Uncategorized > No Contact Please

No Contact Please

Today I did my first faux pas in over a year I’ve been in Dubai. Which, by my standards, is very admirable indeed. But it was inevitable.
We stopped at the supermarket for supplies and my wife met one the parents of a girl she takes care of at the nursery. They exchanged warm pleasantries and several kisses, and my wife introduced me to her. At which point I dutifully extended my hand.
So apparently it is not permitted to shake hands with an Emirati woman unless proffered first. Now I know.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

